First site layout from scratch

So I’ve decided to start writing blogs. Ok then…

The past few months have been very very very slow and boring. Out of this boredom, I decided to do some self study about HTML, CSS , jQuery and refreshed myself about design/layout. 3 weeks ago, I was having a hard time practicing until I noticed that my girlfriend’s site, From The Oven To My Tummy, needed a new layout (accdg. to me)! 😀

A brief history about her website. She launched her site last July 2009 and she decided to use Weebly‘s services. Now I don’t know that much about creating websites back then and just used the provided layouts and entered content. Thats it. I was contented for a while but after browsing the net and seeing other awesome sites, I thought to myself that maybe I could design a site from scratch try to improve the looks of the site.

Unfortunately I don’t have the screenshot of the old layout for comparisson, so I’ll just post the new layout here.

For a beginner like me, this is a challenge because I had to consider the functionalities of Weebly to my design/layout while trying to maintain a minimalist feel.

The layout has already been published (I was excited) and there are a couple of things that needs improvement:

  • Featured/Latest Products on homepage – still researching on how to create a slideshow by custom jQuery. I actually found one but it’s messing up the weebly javascript code.
  • Headers on most of the pages (messed up when using IE).
  • Put content on the “About” page.
  • Change background to a better one.
  • Replace (eventually) all of the product pics to better ones.
  • Featured/Latest Products on homepage – still researching on how to create a slideshow by custom jQuery. I actually found one but it’s messing up the weebly javascript code.
  • Headers on most of the pages (messed up when using IE).
  • Put content on the “About” page.
  • Change background to a better one.Replace (eventually) all of the product pics to better ones.

Thats all for her site for now.

I’ll probably start doing some layouts for my WordPress site (if I decide to pay for the subscription haha).

Leave a Reply

